Everything you need to know about Colorado’s recreational marijuana law
"People with a Colorado ID can buy up to an ounce of marijuana at a time. People with an out-of-state ID can buy up to a quarter ounce."
BUT, “There’s nothing in the state’s rules for recreational marijuana stores that requires them to track customer purchases.”
According to Amendment 64: “The department shall not require a consumer to provide a retail marijuana store with personal information other than government-issued identification to determine the consumer’s age, and a retail marijuana store shall not be required to acquire and record personal information about consumers other than information typically acquired in a financial transaction conducted at a retail liquor store.”
Anywhere cigarette smoking is banned, so is pot. You cannot smoke it in stores, parks, ski slopes, or national parks; basically, anywhere in public. Taking marijuana out-of-state is still illegal, even if you’re traveling to another legal-marijuana state, and if you send it through USPS, you can face federal charges. You can however transport it in your car as long as you’re not smoking it.
President Obama has stated that the feds won’t arrest individual users in Colorado and Washington. But, the DOJ has identified eight things it’s most concerned about, which include “preventing marijuana distribution to minors” and “preventing money from sales from going to criminal groups”.
The state rulebook for stores is 136 pages long, and includes a $1.2 million seed-to-sale tracking system called MITS.
"Every plant that a commercial grower sticks in dirt gets a radio-frequency tag that moves with the plant through its lifecycle. Once the marijuana is harvested, everything is weighed, then it’s weighed again after drying out and at other points during processing until it’s all packaged up to leave the grow. … At the shop, store owners are required to weigh their inventory every day. All of this data is entered into MITS."
However, “it’s up to the state’s pot auditors to actually scour the books and make sure it all matches up.”
“The state Marijuana Enforcement Division is budgeted for 25 criminal investigators and six to eight compliance investigators. Considering that there will likely be hundreds of recreational marijuana stores, state officials say investigators will use the data in MITS as part of a risk-based enforcement approach, rather than making consistent, frequent checks at all stores, grows and infused-products businesses.”
An ounce can run anywhere from $150-$300, but don’t forget to add sales tax, special state sales and excise taxes, plus extra city sales and excise taxes which can add up to 29%.
"The state’s nonpartisan voter guide — in estimating the revenues from marijuana tax measures — projected nearly $400 million a year in recreational marijuana sales. Considering that medical-marijuana stores, alone, did almost $330 million in sales in fiscal year 2013, that number might be low.”